MAIS Internship Spotlight: Briawna Gillespie (’16)

This week, we’re chatting with MAIS student, Briawna Gillespie, about how she completed her internship requirement this summer.

20160706_140948Q: Where were you interning this summer?
This summer, I had the pleasure of having two internships. The first was with the Women’s Institute for Freedom of the Press (WIFP), a women’s organization that works so women in media have the freedom to express their opinions on issues they care about. The other was with Global Woman P.E.A.C.E. Foundation, an organization that helps to promote awareness and provide education to the public about female genital mutilation.

Q: What sort of work were you responsible for at each internship?
At WIFP, I took on a multitude of tasks. I was responsible for updating directories, helping organize events, and a few other interns and I worked together to design whole new logos and creative flyers to re-label the brand. I also attended a series of events all around the city for WIPF.

For Global P.E.A.C.E., I was primarily in charge of finding grants and brainstorming ideas for events. I was given an amazing opportunity to design a social media campaign for the organization to raise awareness about female genital mutilation. I had to come up with a budget, slogan, branding, and a litany of other details in order to bring this campaign to life.

fb_img_1476133181354

Q: Are there accomplishments that you are particularly proud of?
Definitely. At WIFP, the most important thing I accomplished was a presentation I gave in front of a large group of students, authors, and government representatives who were just as excited to learn about issues that women face in media.

The social media campaign I mentioned for Global P.E.A.C.E was ultimately very rewarding as well. As a result of my efforts and dedication, the president of the organization loved my ideas. Currently, the president is in the process of pitching that campaign to the board of directors so it can be launched and active by 2017.

Q: After working at these organizations, what have you gained from those experiences?
These two internships have allowed me to complete things that I never thought I would do, and ultimately allowed me to grow professionally. With enthusiasm and determined effort, I was able to bring my visions as an intern to life. Plus, the friendships and connections that I’ve made this summer were absolutely amazing, and those are definitely experiences that I will carry with me for the rest of my life and future career.

img_20160616_115544

One thought on “MAIS Internship Spotlight: Briawna Gillespie (’16)

  1. Dawn Gillespie

    This blog piece is a huge effort and important topic that needs to be talked about in today’s society. With what’s going on in the media today, it is definitely good timing in speaking on Women’s Rights and how they are viewed and portrayed. I m very proud of this young lady for being a part of two very important issues that bring attention to liberation in media and grants that help prevent suffering by female genital mutilation. These milestones (regardless of how big or small they may seem), can make a huge impact in how we move forward in our own country and globally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

